Day 7 of General Convention

Today was an historic day, a day I can imagine looking back on with an enormous amount of personal pride in saying that “I was there”. I was there, in the room, when our beloved Episcopal Church formally opened the sacrament of marriage to all those seeking to celebrate and bless the covenant relationship gifted to them by God. But I’m getting ahead of myself…

Our morning session continued the structure conversation I mentioned in the Day 6 blog. Translations were in order and all three resolutions have been passed and now make their way to the House of Bishops for concurrence. If you have been reading my posts, you know that I have spent many hours sitting in on sessions of Committee #5 – Governance and Structure. It was wonderful to see their hard work finally come to the floor and pass with minimal amendments. They should be proud of the course they have helped set for our Church.

A joint session with the House of Bishops presented the triennial budget as prepared by Program, Budget and Finance. Bishop Steve Lane, former Canon to the Ordinary in Rochester, is co-chair of this important committee and participated in the presentation to both Houses. It is always a joy to gather with our Bishops and discuss these important matters together.

Chris & Prince

Finally, we came to the two pieces of legislation that called many of us to want to serve as deputies to this General Convention: A054 (Adopt Liturgical Resources “I Will Bless You and You Will Be a Blessing) and A036 (Amend Marriage Canon). I was proud of us today. Not because of the outcome of debate and voting, but because of the manner in which debate and voting was conducted. Differing viewpoints were shared freely. Dissenting testimony was given equal weight. There was no gloating. There was no applause when the results were shared. It was an afternoon grounded in prayer and mutual respect, a true gathering of the Body of Christ. For more on this historic session of the House of Deputies, I commend the excellent article in today’s Deputy News, which can be found here. For those keeping track, here are the final vote tallies for A054 and A036, respectively:

A054 Vote Totals

A036 Vote Totals

Tonight was Utah Night, a presentation of music and dance at the Mormon Tabernacle. Paul and I went straight over and were blessed with great seats. It ended up being a little over 2 1/2 hours long, which was a bit much after such a long and emotional day on the legislative floor. That said, some of the groups were absolutely fantastic.

tabernacle

I was particularly moved by the Lux Singers, currently in residence at St. Mary’s Episcopal Church in Provo. If you have a spare few moments, check them out – you won’t be disappointed. They sang Rene Clausen’s Prayer – a personal favorite – as beautiful as I have heard it. The text is adapted from a prayer of Teresa of Calcutta:

Help me spread Your fragrance wherever I go.

Flood my soul with Your spirit and life.

Penetrate and possess my whole being so utterly that my life may be only a radiance of Yours.

Shine through me and be so in me that every soul I know will feel Your presence in my soul.

Let them look up and see no longer me, but only You.

Amen.

Blessings and peace,

Chris Streeter, Clergy Deputy

3 responses to this post.

  1. I like your reflections Chris. Thanks.

    Reply

  2. The Lux Singers were truly phenomenal. A sound that was absolutely exquisite, too.

    Reply

  3. Agreed! Good Reflections Chris. Thank you. A number of neighbors and friends (not Episcopalian) have asked me about the convention.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

